🗱 BIZCOMMUNITY

All the Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism winners!

City Press journalists Dewald van Rensburg and Sipho Masondo were named Sikuvile's Journalists of the Year for their stories on VBS, which also won them the South African Story of the Year, at the Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards on Thursday evening. The event, held at The Venue, Melrose Arch in Johannesburg, was a celebration of pure truth.



Standard Bank Sikuvile 2019 journalist and SA story of the year winners, Dewald Van Rensburg and Sipho Masondo of City Press.

With the future relying on the virtues of the traditional newsroom, and what award-winning journalists do, that is find things out, verify the facts and publish the best available version of the truth, these journalists and their story did exactly that!

<



Sikuvile Journalism Awards: Finalists announced!

"There were a number of media houses that wrote on the VBS scandal, but the winners of the South African Story of the Year, journalists Dewald van Rensburg and Sipho Masondo, were the ones that broke the story and stayed with it," says convening judge, Mathatha Tsedu.

Their contribution to the coverage of the saga was also never challenged and, unlike others who came into the story later, they never had to backtrack.

Unlike last year, when one major story dominated the headlines, he says, this year there was a variety of stories in the running for the title of South African Story of the Year.

Well done on your amazing achievement tonight <u>@vercingetorics</u> @RensburgDewald @City_Press

#SikuvileAwards https://t.co/E8VXmSaGpH— Media24 (@media24) September 12, 2019

"A lot of discussions took place around these during the judging period," he states. "In general, all the categories have good entries, expect for sports photography where no award was given."

Rosetta Msimango was named Upcoming/Rising star of the Year and the Allan Kirkland Soga Lifetime Achiever Award was awarded to Robin Comley.

What a wonderful thing it is to have a young Black female photographer as the "Rising Star"

winner at the <u>#SBSJA19</u> Congratulations to you <u>#RosettaMsimang</u> of <u>@City_Press pic.twitter.com/pTLyx6vBqb</u>— Dinesh Balliah (@DineshBalliah) <u>September 12, 2019</u>

All the category winners were rewarded with R15,000, a trophy and a certificate.

The Frewin, McCall, and Joel Mervis Awards

The Frewin, McCall, and Joel Mervis Awards winners were also announced at the event.

The Frewin Award, which recognises urban daily newspapers with a circulation above 40,000, went to *Beeld*, while *Pretoria News* was awarded the McCall Award, which honours urban daily newspapers with a circulation of 40,000 or less. The Joel Mervis Award recognises urban weekly newspapers irrespective of their circulation and a joint award went to *City Press*.

Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards 2019 winners:

Hard News		
Winner	Title	Publication
Aron F Hyman	"Hyper-trauma': Another young life lost, more desperate pleas in gangland"; "Order to kill was issued in jail cell"; "Tears as Hannah's friend faces her 'killers' in court"	Times Live
Columns/Editorial		
Carla Lewis	"Stompie moet steeds by ons spook"	Beeld
Enterprise News		
Graeme Hosken	"Serial Horror"	Sunday Times
Feature Writing		
Ma Malan, Laura Lopez Gonzalez, Pontsho Pilane, Joan Van Dyk	"Who killed Ntombizodwa? Politics, protest and Corruption in the North West"	Bhekisisa, Mail Guardian
Investigative Journalism		
Sipho Masondo, Dewald Van Rensburg	"VBS"	City Press
Editorial Cartoons		-
Fred Mouton	"They just keep on gorging, but don't want to fly"; "Earthling, take me to your leader"; "Heinz, you won't believe it"; "Lady Justice"; "Manny"	Die Burger
Graphic Journalism		-
Cobus Prinsloo	"Insight – die jongste besoeker op Mars"; "Is it a plane? Is it a chopper? No, it's a skytaxi!"; "Latest visitor to Mars"	Die Burger, City Press, Netwerk24
Popular Journalism		
Mhie Silangwe	"Zuma's wife Disowned"	Sunday Sun
News Photographs		
Theodore Jeptha	"Joe Slovo Protest"	Son Newspaper
Feature photographs		
Alon Skuy	1%ers a rare glimpse into an outlaw "Motorcycle Club"	Sunday Times
Sports Photographs		
No Award		
Presentation		
Johnn-Grant Munro	"Koebaai, Nr 1"; "Die bose Z is weg"	Die Burger
Multiplatform Stories		
Anthony Molyneaux	Hannah Cornelius - "Kidnapping, mapping the murder and the killers"	Times Live
Lifestyle		
Retha Fick	"Legendariese roadhouse herleef"	Beeld

Judging took place in May and the judging panel is made up of industry experts, all well-known and respected in the newspaper industry and includes Dinesh Balliah, Henry Jefreys, Mike Siluma, Tyrone August, Phil Mthimkhulu Pippa Green, Liesl Louw-Vaundrum, Mary Papayya, Ryland Fisher, Neo Ntsoma, Maud Motanyane, Lizeka Mda, Thabo Leshilo and Themba Hadebe.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com