

These are South Africa's best olive oils

SA's standout extra virgin olive oils (EVOO) were awarded at the annual SA Olive Awards held in Franschhoek last week. Each year, a panel of international and local taste experts, led by an international panel leader, congregates on South African soil to judge and give CTC certified oils the gold, silver or bronze stamp of taste excellence.



©Sebastian Duda via 123RF

The event signifies and acknowledges the culmination of hard work and the strive for excellence within the industry.

Nick Wilkinson, chairman of SA Olive, commented: "Despite the horrendous drought and challenging growing conditions our growers have once again produced world quality premium oils.

"Competitions like the SA Olive Awards and the Absa Top 10 Awards not only shine a light on the skills of SA olive oil producers, they also encourage South African and international consumers to buy locally produced extra virgin olive oils. The industry has shown itself to be forward thinking and innovative in all aspects of production. If Government triggers their development plan, which recognises the upside this industry has in job creation and import substitution, we could play a positive role in addressing the very real problems facing our country."



From left to right:

Front: Nick Wilkinson (Rio Largo Olive Estate), Willie Duminy (Porterville Olives), Jan Hendrik Basson (Porterville Olives),

Daniel Munzvenga (Zoetigheyd Farms), Leana Stevens (Olyfberg Vrugte), Nico Loubser (Morgenster Wine & Olive Estate) Middle: Chris van Niekerk (Mardouw Olive Estate), Alexis Kearney (Lapithos Olive Growers), Lizelle Joubert (Cakhurst Olives), Joop Steenkamp (De Rustica Estates) Back: Peter Unite (Zoetigheyd Farms), Bob Hobson (L'Ormarins), Bryan Beverley (L'Ormarins), Sandy Jeffery (Diepsak Farm), Reter du Toit (Cakhurst Olives), Gert van Dyk (Tokara), Philip King (Mardouw Olive Estate), Perry Chaloner (Chaloner), Reter Coetsee (Marbrin Farm), Briony Coetsee (Marbrin Farm), Clive Heymans (Marbrin Farms). Image credit: SA Olive

According to SA Olive, a total of 93 extra virgin olive oils were entered into the 2018 competition – a slight increase over last year's 87 entries. The panel awarded 21 gold, 34 silver and 26 bronze medals, which made 87% of the competing oils medal worthy.

Gold medal winners in the Delicate category

Diepsak Farm - Green & Gold Premium
Olyfberg Vrugte - Olyfberg EVOO Blend A
Rio Largo Olive Estate - Rio Largo Gold EVOO
Tokara - Tokara Mission EVOO

Gold medal winners in the Intense category

Marbrin Farm - Mabrin Olive Growers Directors Reserve EVOO Mardouw Olive Estate - Premium XXV Intense EVOO Porterville Olives - Andante Intenso EVOO

Gold medal winners in the Medium category

Chaloner - Chaloner Nocellara Medium EVOO

Lapithos Olive Growers - Lapithos Medium EVOO

De Rustica Olive Estates - De Rustica Estate Collection Frantoio EVOO

L'Ormarins - Terra del Capo EVOO

L'Ormarins - L'Ormarins Medium EVOO

Mardouw Olive Estate - Mardouw Oil of the Olive EVOO

Morgenster Wine & Olive Estate - Morgenster Don Carlo Medium EVOO

Namagua Olives - Namagua Frantoio Medium EVOO

Namaqua Olives - Namaqua FS17 / Frantoio Medium EVOO

Oakhurst Olives - Oakhurst Medium EVOO

Serrado Olive Estate - Serrado Estate Medium EVOO

Zoetigheyd - Daniel's Delish EVOO

Zoetigheyd - Farm Fresh EVOO

Zoetigheyd - Costa's Colours EVOO

(2).	
For the full list of winners visit <u>SA Olive online</u> .	

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com